A Path Against Demons

ScreenHunter_01-Mar.-05-13.23.gifI don’t like demons. Who could possibly like something so fierce and evil and manipulating as a demon… don’t answer that.

I have my challenges, and if you read my posts here you’ll know I’m dealing with suicidal thoughts, cutting, depression, anxiety, fear and self-confidence issues in my child.
I’m now convinced that with – ALL – the many things happening, demonic activity is here. I already know believers can’t be possessed, but we can certainly be oppressed and where does the battle take place… inside us or outside our bodies or in the heavenly realms. Either way, demons are real and fear is a spirit – the Bible tells us so. The spirit of fear does not come from the Father.

I’m reading a book which is causing me to think about the subject of casting out demons. With the many issues we’re dealing with, it’s not far fetched to think it’s demons causing the whole charade.
But even if I have the authority to command demons to leave me, I’m not the one doing the work; He is! But casting out demons in others… I’m wondering if God wants me to be His instrument for such purpose. 

B60ZMeAIUAAk6y-.jpg

We all have time periods of un-repented sin (unless you wish to “throw the first stone”) and demon spirits are sneaky. They’ll attach or enter through a keyhole at any given time…  Suppose my child has demons either in or attached to her, e.g. oppression, not possession, but in this case a fierce and ongoing oppression.
Suppose I’m growing in my awareness of their presence.

Some weeks ago my child asked questions about sexuality. Pretty common I would think albeit, a tad bit young. Same week I get approached in the supermarket by a man with very direct intentions and the following week, my daughter gets an email from a 21 year old guy looking for hot fun on a penpal website, posing as a 17 year old. All in this order and unrelated to each other. Could it possibly be that a demon of sexual sin was attracting these incidents toward us, is it coincidental (not likely!!) or is it just random sinful world stuff…

bb0d1a27ab87777151322eb61e463261.jpgLonging to rid us from this… I began praying for help, which led me to verbally telling the demons to go away in Jesus’ Name. It may be wishful thinking but I did actually feel like things were lighter for a day or so. But we got back in the rut… My kid needs to be built up and grow a strong relationship with the Lord. Otherwise banished demons may simply re-enter or re-attack.

I visited a friend yesterday. He knows my heart and situation. He prayed for me. Long and intense he prayed and asked the Lord to give me authority to cast out demons. He did this without me telling him of my own prayers for the same thing and it’s certainly not the most common thing to pray for!

Only the Lord can cast out demons, but could He intend for me to be His instrument? I’m not confused as much as in a waiting position. Waiting on hearing the Lord and praying for His protection in the meantime.

 

This is me right now. Pondering the Lord of mercy and light and what path lies before me.

21 thoughts on “A Path Against Demons

  1. Thanks for making a stand for Christ. Your topic is exactly what I write about in my Christian novels. I find that for the most part the Christian church is mum about the topic, sort of like taxes or sex, but yet the Christian needs to know and understand as part of the daily walk with Him. Check out my novel series if you desire a story form of an answer with real time spiritual warfare.
    Author Terry Palmer

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Bev Linder

    New International Version Jude 1:9
    “But even the archangel Michael, when he was disputing with the devil about the body of Moses, did not himself dare to condemn him for slander but said, “The Lord rebuke you!” ”

    I always stand behind the Lord and ask Him to do the rebuking. That seems the safe thing to do, and as the verse above states, even Michael the archangel realized his own inability to fight the spiritual war.

    Ephesians chapter 6 gives us our marching orders, and most of it has to do with being in the Word of God.

    May God bless you and your daughter!

    Like

  3. I won’t add to the comments about demonization because that’s been well covered.

    I would invite you to pray God give you a divine connection to a friend or group of prayer warrior friends to be your back-up ( per say) and your encouragers. There is nothing like that prayer in agreement with fellow believers.

    Praying for you and daughter.

    Liked by 3 people

  4. Hi:
    The enemy of our soul continues to attack Christ Followers, and draw us away from what Jesus has called us to do. He especially likes to attack children also, and wreck havoc in families.
    Just curious if there is anything in your daughter’s behaviour or life that would attract this attention. Is she involved in a group of “friends” who cut together, or share their cutting experiences? Also curious what other connection there may be with the 21 year old who emailed, if he is a brother or friend of other friends, or known randomly.

    Apart from all the questions and thoughts above, I believe it is possible fir evil spirits, demons to invade a Christian’s being, if a door of opportunity is given, such as ongoing unrepentant sin, or habitual sin. These activities invite the enemy in because he then knows a weakness, and will attack.

    As for casting out demons, Jesus Christ has given authority to His disciples to do this, in His Name.

    There have been a few instances where my wife and I have been involved in ministry where we prayed and cast out demons, from believers, in Jesus Name.
    There was a definite leading of the Holy Spirit, before and during the prayer time, as the persons involved each time were released from the hold that was on them. Praise Jesus.
    Some of this ministry was in the church, during altar prayer times, and some was at a home with a prayer team involved, and under the authority and Blessings of the church Pastor.

    Once the cleansing was completed, prayers were offered for the individuals to be filled with the Spirit of God, as well as a protective covering of the Precious Blood Of Jesus. The individuals were also guided and encouraged to read the Bible and pray, in Jesus Name, and the Power of His Spirit.

    Acts 16:18
    18 And this she kept doing for many days. Paul, having become greatly annoyed, turned and said to the spirit, “I command you in the name of Jesus Christ to come out of her.” And it came out that very hour.

    Acts 19:11-12
    11 And God was doing extraordinary miracles by the hands of Paul, 12 so that even handkerchiefs or aprons that had touched his skin were carried away to the sick, and their diseases left them and the evil spirits came out of them.

    Mark 16:17-18
    17 And these signs will accompany those who believe: in my name they will cast out demons; they will speak in new tongues; 18 they will pick up serpents with their hands; and if they drink any deadly poison, it will not hurt them; they will lay their hands on the sick, and they will recover.”

    God’s Blessings Sister, and Wisdom as you seek God in dealing with these challenges.
    I am praying for you, praying a Hedge of Protection around you, along with a covering of the Precious Blood of or Saviour Jesus Christ, that He willingly gave for us, so we may have life, eternal life, Abundant life.

    George

    Liked by 4 people

    1. Thank you for your input.
      First off, my daughter isn’t in a group due to social anxiety and the email from the 21 y/o came out of nowhere and is unknown (and gone).

      Thanks for the verses too and prayers. I believe God has an amazing plan for my child and the enemy is doing everything he can to stop it… But it will come crashing down on him one day when the Lord says stop. I just pray I can stay close to Jesus, hear Him and follow Him wherever He wants me to go and in whatever He wants me to do.
      Thank you.
      Lene

      Liked by 4 people

  5. Through much bible study on the matter and through much prayer on this specific subject, I have come to understand a lot about how demons oppress believers. Although God is absolutely sovereign He has allowed Satan to be the Prince of the Air here on earth. Jesus dealt with demons (aka evil spirits, unclean spirits, familiar spirits, etc.) in a very specific way. Many people are not aware that He cast seven demons out of Mary Magdalene. Apparently so many people were/are demonized (under the influence of a demon, to one degree or another) that Jesus gave His twelve disciples authority to send them packing. He also gave this authority to His seventy disciples He sent out. In addition, He also mentioned it as one of the signs that would follow His believers for the rest of the age. I have accumulated a great deal of information from my studying. I would be happy to share some of it with you if you think it would be helpful (you can email me directly). Most importantly, trust in God’s Word above all else and trust the Holy Spirit to guide you. I will be praying for you!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you. I appreciate your understanding and offer of help. I would like to learn more and also hear from the Lord Himself, because casting out demons hasn’t been on my mind before but I don’t suppose any demon would put that into my head! I’m jumping around in scripture as I feel lead, being careful not to trust anything outside of scripture… I’m curious to learn if demons can indeed enter a believers body or soul (not spirit, where God resides) as some scholars do teach or if our bodies are simply off limits. I also continue to return to Matthew 12:43-45, my daughter is only 10 and there is a limit as to how Spirit-filled she is or could have been, despite attending a very Christian school with daily Bible teaching. But today she only touches a “Christian living” book if I tell her to and all together avoids the Bible unless it’s forced upon her. It feels like I’m balancing a tightrope here.

      Like

      1. Is the book you mentioned you had been reading authored by D. Dickerman? If so, you have a great resource. I have read several of his books on the subject of people being “demonized.” I hesitated in my initial comment to come out and directly say that I absolutely believe that Christians can have demons inside of them (though, as you indicated, not in their spirit where the Holy Spirit resides.) I have spent a lot of time searching the scriptures and have found a lot of evidence to support this opinion. My reason for not stating this initially was that I didn’t want to cause a debate in this comment section, but now that both sides (yes and no) have been stated by others I feel more comfortable in stating my opinion.
        On a side note, the first time I read your story about the issues that your daughter has been facing in the last couple of years, the thought that immediately came to my mind was, “that sounds like it is being caused by demons.” I didn’t feel like I should mention it to you at the time. When I read this article I decided that since you had come up with the idea on your own I would now mention this to you.
        I had a personal experience (yes, after I was saved, baptized and filled with the Holy Spirit) in which I had a demon cast out of me. Without going into detail, the results were amazing, instant, and lasting. That was several years ago. Since that time, God has slowly and deliberately moved myself and my wife into a ministry that helps Christian believers get rid of demons that have been plaguing them. In the short time God has been using us in this ministry, we have helped a number of believers gain freedom from demons that were causing things such as depression, anxiety, cutting, ptsd, suicidal thoughts, addictions, etc. In each case, through the authority of the name of Jesus and by the stronghold-breaking power of God, we have seen dramatic and lasting changes in the lives of each one of these individuals. The power of God is truly amazing and always glorifies our Heavenly Father. All the glory and thanks goes to our Heavenly Father who loves His children so much that He wants to see them set free of the torment sent by the enemy! I am praying for your situation and I am confident that the Lord will lead you to the answers and help you are seeking. All our answers are in Jesus. Again, if you would like to ask me any questions or just simply want someone to bounce ideas off of, feel free to contact me via email (my email address is now listed on the “Contact” page of my WordPress site.)

        Liked by 3 people

      2. Thank you for sharing your story as well as opinion and so far, I must agree with you that an evil spirit can take up residence in a believer if there is an open door.
        I have some friends in the neighborhood whom I trust and just yesterday I spoke with one of them who allowed me to run my confused thoughts through her and then brought up the issue of my daughter coming to realize the truth for herself – the truth will set her free. If evil spirits are cast out and she does not fill her heart with truth, Jesus, then evil will return 7-fold – as the Bible says. She bound and commanded the spirit of fear to leave me, so I am truly not afraid, but praying that the Lord of all will reveal His truth directly to my daughter so the hunger for Him will outweigh the fear she is feeling. I hope this makes sense.

        Liked by 3 people

  6. I’ve had migraine headaches for years. Long story short. Through many people praying I was healed of all headches. Satan doesn’t like it very much and I will start to feel a headache coming on. I’ll say I’ve been healed by Jesus. Get thee behind me Satan. You have already been conquered by His blood. And I thank the Lord for my healing and His power to cast away Satan. Satan attacks my faith. Not going to happen. I experienced a miracle no one can take that from me. I’ll be praying for your situation. I appreciate warriorforchrist. Yep! Put your armor on!

    Liked by 3 people

  7. I do believe that the Enemy attacks us in various ways. I am even willing to say that he’s behind all struggles indirectly. Even so, it sounds like you have a couple of situations the result of this sinful world we live in rather than full on demonic attack. Is the child who asked the questions and the one being stalked online the same person?

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you so much for these encouraging words.
      I edited the post a bit, so my point hopefully comes across a bit better, but for sure: I certainly don’t have all the answers!!
      Loving Blessings to you

      Like

  8. Demons CANNOT enter a baptized Christian who has the Holy Spirit indwelling. There is NO way God would allow such a thing. Not ever. What is in you is greater than what is in the world. I John 4:4. Demons have no power over us. They can, however, cause all sorts of havoc in our lives but remember that God is sovereign over all. And you can put them in their place. They have to obey if you tell them in Jesus’ Name.
    Herein is the importance of staying close to God in prayer and study. And following the lead of the Holy Spirit. Be strong in the Lord and the power of His might. Put on the whole armor of God so that we may be able to stand against the wiles of the devil. Ephesians 6: 10-11 Don’t believe any garbage satan puts into your mind to the contrary.

    Liked by 6 people

Leave a Reply

