A knack for trials

self-pity-darling-1300x866.jpg“I don’t need any trials in my life!”
I screamed from the darkness of the pit called “self-pity”.

Jesus said “In this life, you will have trials”

All the time, Lord??
Really… I just made it through one and now another spear has hit me right in the sore spot. Again!
I seem to have a knack for trials!

Jesus said “Take heart, for I have overcome the world”

I know You did, Lord… but what about me?
I can’t deal with the world much longer.

How come everybody else’s life is so good and perfect? Why am I the only one who is drowning in *rap? huh?

Dont-look-for-perfect-life-partner.jpg
I have an overwhelming desire to insert the text “Jesus said “because nothing on social media is reflecting real life””… but He never said that.
Wait… breathe… Do I want or do I need trials in my life?
While I certainly don’t want them, perhaps I do need them: For what happens when I’m allowed “time out”… I drift off and fall away from the One Who loves me at all times.

Jesus said “… And I will be with you until the very end of the age”

It doesn’t feel like You are all that close, Lord!… Really, it doesn’t!

Jesus said “I will send you a helper” (John 14:26)

A helper… Your Holy Spirit…  Maybe I’ve been so focused on the little round problem dangling in front of my eyes, instead of the Spirit inside me, that You gave me Lord. Oops…

Jesus said “The Spirit will give me glory, because he will take what I say and tell it to you” (John 16:14)

Yeah… 20150426_182543-1.jpg

Do you have a minute, Lord? Or a 100…?
Because I could really use a cup of coffee!

9 thoughts on “A knack for trials

  1. Thank you for sharing your honesty coupled with the words of the Lord. A needed reminder for me because I was just in this very place early this week, except I usually don’t quiet down like I should to listen to what I know to be true (“in this life we will have trials, but I have overcome the world”).

    It’s a strange encouragement to know I am not alone when one trials ends and another pops up quickly, and I get stressed or frustrated instead of trusting in the One who has all authority. Thank you again for sharing and may God’s Spirit arise in us most especially in the times of challenge so we can walk out the truth that we are overcomers too! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Are you listening while you dance?

    The message of The 11 (“The narrow gate”)

    “The eleven disciples went to Galilee”
    “Where Jesus had told them to go”
    They heard His voice and obeyed His will
    Despite uncertainty down below

    Jesus spoke to them at length
    He wasn’t really a Tweeter
    Only 3 of them wrote Scripture
    Matthew John and Peter

    “Feed my sheep” said Jesus, for though
    “Heaven and earth will pass away”
    I have the words of eternal life and
    “My words will never pass away”

    “Enter through the narrow gate”
    The voice of Jesus through the eleven
    Believe in Jesus “through their message”
    And “eat from the tree of life” in heaven

    Jesus commissioned the eleven
    With “everything I have commanded you”
    “Teaching THEM to obey” Jesus
    And “THEM” means me and you !

    “The command given by our Lord and Savior”
    Is not a Pharisee speaking alone
    It came rather “through your apostles”
    Matthew Peter and John

    If a Pharisee boasts proudly
    Those men added nothing to my message
    He doesn’t speak for Jesus
    His words are nothing more than garbage

    Bibliography
    All “quotes” in “quotation marks” are from the writings of the Apostles Matthew John and Peter in the Bible, mostly the “Red Letter” words of Jesus. [Matthew, John, Revelation, 2 Peter – NIV]

    Like

  3. Oh I know this all too well. Can never get my head above water before being pushed down again. Most of the time it’s relentless and getting hit on multiple sides all at once. It can get pretty scary (my son with the heart condition and chronic fatigue syndrome who has a stream of trials that are all over the top) and very overwhelming. I wish many times that Jesus would come back today.But keep in mind we have an enemy who wants to take us down and keep us down. Some battles you have to let God fight for you. And He will do that. I know. I experienced it and it left me with my mouth in an “o”. LOL Totally amazed.
    I have a saying taped to the base of one of my computer monitors. It reads: “Every evening I turn my worries over to God. He’s going to be up all night, anyway.” -Mary C. Crowley.

    Like

    1. And you are so absolutely right here! Thankfully I tend to reach the point of “Let’s have that coffee Jesus, shall we?” and I float back up.
      I love the quote… Maybe I’ll print it too 😉

      Like

  4. I just love music. So here is an old time hymn. Helps me get through those trials. Perhaps it may help you too. God bless your times in the valleys. Never alone.

    Turn your eyes upon Jesus
    Look full in His wonderful face
    And the things of Earth will grow strangely dim
    In the light of His glory and grace.

    Thank you for being authentic in sharing.

    Like

  5. I can certainly relate to this. I hate problems and trials, yet I know that is how we grow. And I never share my problems on Facebook. Lol Today has been hard for me too.

    Like

    1. Sorry to hear that. Sometimes I just think we overthink things and then convince ourselves that we can’t show weakness to others… what would they say if they learned I don’t have the perfect life… it’s ridiculous really as nobody has a perfect life ❣️ be well and remain blessed.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

