Way off topic

This post has a content I don’t usually write about…

This post isn’t about Jesus – though He certainly is a part of the healing process.

what-is-dyscalculia.jpg

This post is about awareness of a condition known as “DYSCALCULIA” and the effects it is likely to have on children in and outside of school. 

 

 

It’s not just about math and not understanding numbers though that is always the main focus. This is about how dyscalculia flows into all areas of a child’s life, how it can create anxiety issues and social issues and the feeling of never being good enough… to even simply “cope”.

numbers_game_numbers.jpgHow a child with dyscalculia will feel too “shy” to trust her/himself enough to go buy a small thing in a shop simply because the concepts of numbers/money are off.

 

This article is from a website called UNDERSTOOD.org and this particular article addresses most of the issues that my daughter struggles with in daily life – despite not yet having reached her tween years. 

I urge you to click the link and give yourself a chance to understand that dyscalculia is a big deal – and if not found and tested in the early stages it will likely affect a child throughout life and not just in school related situations.

back-to-school.jpg

Dyscalculia isn’t as known as dyslexia. Perhaps because the school system places a lot of emphasis on the language arts – but more and more kids will experience dyscalculia in years to come, though I have no way of backing up that statement, I urge any parent – AND school system – to pay close attention.

Thank you.

9 thoughts on “Way off topic

    1. I’m so sorry you had to go through the stress of straight “F’s”!! There are many good websites explaining dyscalculia in more details so if you want to know if this is truly what you are dealing with, go check it out. Thanks for stopping by here! I appreciate the comment.

      Like

  1. Hello! I must say, I really love reading your blog. I find it inspiring and full of hope. Although, in the past months I haven’t had the time to browse the blogs I follow because of work, as soon as I have the time, I do read the posts, like right now. Thank you for keeping me inspired and pumped up in my faith with Jesus. 

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Please spread the word 🙏 – it’s not unknown but it’s not among the top things teachers look for – and many kids just gets the “lazy” stamp. So please spread awareness as much as possible. Thanks so much for reading. I appreciate it. Lord bless you.

      Like

Leave a Reply

