Forgive – and move on

My wonderful and dear fellow blogger Pastor Jim Bell wrote in one of his posts, from his hospice bed, about forgiveness:

If we do not feel that God forgives us, we cannot forgive ourselves, and if we cannot forgive ourselves, it it is impossible to forgive others.

I owe a great deal of thanks to Pastor Jim. When I first began blogging he was there with loads and loads of encouragement and I dare to say that he is partly the reason why I continued blogging.

forgiveness2.jpgForgivenes is one of my “thorns”… I unfortunately have a really hard time forgiving people if they hurt my loved ones – oh dear, how I struggle.

One question I always ask myself is “was it really that bad??” Usually, it wasn’t. I can deal with that.

On rare occasions, such as that time when a fellow believer hurt my daughter badly by preventing me from helping her (long story), I simply couldn’t get past it. I still struggle with it, but I believe I have forgiven the person… idontcare.gif

Though I must say, it certainly did not help that she waltzed around acting like she had done absolutely nothing wrong.

Ugh – how that gnawed in my soul!

Forgiving her was one thing, but trusting her again is an entirely different matter – but today I leave it in God’s hands because I do trust the Lord.

Ephesians 1:7
For by the blood of Christ we are set free, that is, our sins are forgiven. How great is the grace of God.

I find it difficult to feel and accept the Lord’s forgivenes of my sins – I mean the sins that came after I surrendered my life to the Lord – because “I ought’a know better!”… But God is bigger than my sins. Forgiving others should be easy because the Lord has forgiven me…

God’s grace is far greater than my wrongs.

I really need to get that into my head! Embrace it… like a child who just got a puppy – with incredible joy receiving something so valuable as life.

Hugs-edit-500x350.jpg

28 thoughts on “Forgive – and move on

  1. Pingback: Forgive – and move on – In God's Service

  2. Pingback: Forgive – and move on – In God's Service * Following In Faith

  3. Dear Lenin,

    Amen. I think remembering we aren’t forgiving with human forgiveness helps. We let Jesus forgive through us and everyone gets healed. That’s how He wants it to work.
    Keep on blogging.
    In Christ,

    Gary

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: Forgive – and move on – janjoy52

  5. God’s grace is far greater than my wrongs.

    I really need to get that into my head! Embrace it… like a child who just got a puppy – with incredible joy receiving something so valuable as life.

    Wonderful! That’s a picture we can all embrace! Pressing this!

    Like

  6. “God’s grace is far greater than my sins” ; What a wonderful way to say it.! With such forgiveness given us how can we not forgive our neighbors? Still it is a struggle, mostly because our egos get in the way! You wrote beautifully about a problem we all have.l Thanks!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I don’t know whether you deliberately avoided the phrase “forgive and forget”, which is used so much the words are practically without any meaning, but I suppose that’s the gist of your argument. It would undoutedly be beneficial to move on, or to forget, and even the website Web MD acknowledges that when it points to symptoms like high blood pressure, stress hormones in the blood, and a weaker immune system if you fail.

    I suppose it is also expected of me to forgive,but sometimes that isn’t just hard. It’s impossible. But then again I’ve never really managed to be a true believer.

    Like

    1. I think that there are a lot of wrongs that can and will be easily forgotten. If a person apologizes f.ex. forgiving is easy (or fairly easy) and you soon forget the little thing/s… well, I do anyway. As stated – I can deal with the “was it really that bad?” question when the answer was no.
      It’s the big stuff that is hard to forgive and yet we must do so. To heal. Holding a grudge never got anybody anywhere good.
      The Lord heals the wound, but will often leave the scar… so we can share it and help others when they go through something similar. The Lord places the people of His choice in our lives, so we can be witnesses for His glory. Sometimes that means sharing painful things.

      A true believer does not depend on whether or not you are able to forgive, but if you place your hope in Jesus. Loving Jesus means that you try to follow Him, but He and you knows that you can’t live a sinless life. For some that means unforgiveness. Others can’t stop gossiping. We all have our weaknesses…
      Sorry – this turned into a longer comment than intended 😉
      Thanks for reading John! Many Blessings to you.

      Liked by 1 person

  8. I must be good at this or something (and I’m really not bragging), but I feel sorry for folks who can’t do it. It is so confusing when someone can’t forgive especially when I’m on the “unforgiven” end of the stick. The bullies (both at school and work) and even my ex who molested our child. Something is wrong with such humans.

    I admit, however, to avoiding bullies that get on my nerves. I am thinking that I can forgive them (for they really no not what they are doing to themselves) but still keep safe!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It is very easy to understand if you grew up in the heat of a communist revolution. It affects even the animals in war zones. Americans haven’t had any noteworthy war on home turf for centuries even they waged war in other countries. But to have it on your street, for decades, it makes a nation hard. We are a minority who had to fight for survival since the 1500’s, then taken to the other side of the world, defend ourselves against brutal slaughter ever since; even now, it is ongoing. It does affect a nation over generations. I always say: step into the boots of another, you me be less Christian when under much greater pressure. The thing is that my indignation is hardly ever about me, but rather zealots doing damage to His Kingdom. Life is about Him, not us.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. A battle weary Marine may start a brawl much faster than a fresh one. If one does not have gas in the tank, one cannot drive. Same for emotional energy. If one is depleted, one will not act according to the Book. This is where fellow Christians fail as they would rather judge or shun instead of healing that person. Ezekiel 34, 1 John 3:16-18. We need to accommodate those who need a little TLC and a tune-up.

        Liked by 1 person

  9. The thing is that it isn’t about me. I find myself in the irate company of Ezra, Nehemiah, Paul and even Jesus when someone becomes a Sanballat and put temple building in disarray. It is easy to to let go of either a true brother or a total unbeliever. Even Jesus did not want to forgive the religious nuts of His day and said so! I find it hard to accommodate religious spirits in my heart. I am learning to forgive them but also to kick the dust off my feet and turn my back on them, which is what Jesus had taught.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. First of all I wish to thank you for visiting my site and indicating a ‘like’ on one of my posts. I knew immediately it was a sister in Christ. May God bless you.
    Now that drew me to your site and I read this post inside of which is a message which touched my heart for you wrote ‘ I find it difficult to feel and accept the Lord’s forgiveness of my sins – I mean the sins that came after I surrendered my life to the Lord – because “I ought’a know better!”… But God is bigger than my sins. Forgiving others should be easy because the Lord has forgiven me….’
    In this world there is much wickedness and hate, selfishness and greed and many other sins against our Creator. It is only by understanding that God is the Creator, a loving Father who simply wants the best for each one of us that we see the real truth about life and the sinful nature. As Paul wrote,
    Romans 7:17-19 New International Version – UK

    17 As it is, it is no longer I myself who do it, but it is sin living in me. 18 For I know that good itself does not dwell in me, that is, in my sinful nature.[a] For I have the desire to do what is good, but I cannot carry it out. 19 For I do not do the good I want to do, but the evil I do not want to do – this I keep on doing.

    Yet we must continue to fight against sin and give praise to our Lord Jesus Christ that he became our righteousness. Our sins, all of them, have been dealt with. Praise The Lord!

    Thanks
    Shirley Anne

    Liked by 2 people

  11. I used to find it hard to believe God loved me and when I would sin I would not talk with him for days until I didn’t feel so bad! Not a good idea. Look how Jesus treated the disciples. They were always sinning and he stuck right by them. He knows how weak we all are. I do believe God forgives me and now I talk with him right away about anything I’ve done. He always forgives immediately and throws our sins into the depths of the sea.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

