Prepare to meet God

No, it’s not a death threat!
The Lord walked with Adam & Eve in the garden. He met with Moses in the desert. He spoke to and through His prophets… and now He speaks through His Holy Spirit.

tabernacle.jpgIt’s beautiful to look through the Old Testament Bible and read about the spectacular Tabernacle build on God’s command. The place where God would dwell with His people in the wilderness…

It seems pretty clear to me that the Lord enjoys meeting with His people. A lot.

Of course, a Holy God can’t meet with some unholy/sinful girl to sip coffee at the nearest coffee shop… Not that the wilderness would have had a lot of those!.. Which is why Jesus came, so we CAN meet God. Of course a coffee shop in the wilderness would have been pretty cool… “what’s that? An iced Latte to go?” – ha!
I have learned that the Hebrew word for “meet” is “ya’adh” (please don’t ask me to pronounce it!) – which means “to appoint, fix a time and/or place, meet by agreement, come together” and perhaps more.
In Exodus 19, God tells Moses to prepare His people for His arrival. He even gives a day and instructions on how to prepare them. When He came, Moses spoke and God answered him with v-o-i-c-e!

Exodus 19:9-11 (NIV)
The Lord said to Moses, “I am going to come to you in a dense cloud, so that the people will hear me speaking with you and will always put their trust in you.” Then Moses told the Lord what the people had said. And the Lord said to Moses, “Go to the people and consecrate them today and tomorrow. Have them wash their clothes and be ready by the third day, because on that day the Lord will come down on Mount Sinai in the sight of all the people.

Exodus 19:19
As the sound of the trumpet grew louder and louder, Moses spoke and the voice of God answered him.

That was then, this is now… But do I still need to hear from God? Oh dear, yes! But I don’t have a tabernacle, I don’t wash my clothes before praying and God doesn’t tell me when He intends to appear as a dense cloud! ipod.jpg
But I believe I still need to prepare to meet Him.
I know – Jesus is only a prayer away and He always listens.
No argument there!
But if I want to listen and hear what the Lord wants to tell me, perhaps I should put a little preparation in to it? Okay, maybe a lot… at least in my heart.

My best time to meet the Lord and hear Him is the morning time, with my cuppa in hand. It’s a daily appointment because I tend to wake up early (okay, sometimes He let’s me sleep in). hearing-voices-2.jpgI silence myself, I try to be still, concentrating on the Lord… and some days it just doesn’t work! So I grab my devotional and try not to get annoyed that my time with the Lord will get cut short, and once my girl wakes up – it’s “go” time…

Then I worship and praise Him…

Acts 13:2 (NLT)
One day as these men were worshiping the Lord and fasting, the Holy Spirit said, “Appoint Barnabas and Saul for the special work to which I have called them.”

After worship and praise, I begin to pray…

Mark 1:35 (NLT)
Before daybreak the next morning, Jesus got up and went out to an isolated place to pray.

And then I listen for His voice… and I write it down in my journal. I don’t write down my prayers, but only what the Lord is telling me. And sometimes what I think He is telling me. Diary-Writing.png And it’s beautiful because now, a year after my dad passed away, I can go back in that journal and clearly see how the Lord was preparing me for what was coming, for the last months of my dad’s life and the following grief. He said it would be hard. He told me it would be a long horrible walk. But He also said I wouldn’t be crushed.

Habakkuk 2:2 (GNT)
The Lord gave me this answer: “Write down clearly on tablets what I reveal to you, so that it can be read at a glance.

slow-down-and-listen-for-Gods-vocie-lynne-lee-how-to-hear-god.jpg

18 thoughts on “Prepare to meet God

  1. Great idea to have a pen and paper handy to write down what Jesus is saying. I hear tons of words but often it’s when I out in my yard gardening or jogging or driving in the car. I just have to ask Him to repeat it please when I’m ready. “)

    Pressing this!♡

    Like

    1. Thank you!
      I sure have benefitted from my journal many times so I would personally highly encourage it. But we are all different and the Lord speaks in different ways to all of us. Isn’t He just incredible?!?
      Maybe you can use a voice recording (on your phone?) when you’re out.. 😉 ?

      Thanks so much for pressing my post.
      Love and Blessings to you.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Prepare to meet God – janjoy52

  3. Elizabeth

    Wonderful post, Leneln!! I especially loved the Hebrew definition of To Meet!! I know I will be using that sometime when I talk/write about having a daily prayer time!

    Have you ever read The Interior Castle, by St. Teresa of Avila? It is about your soul being like a castle or a tabernacle, where you CAN meet with the King of Kings! It is a masterpiece on prayer, one that is treasured by both Catholics and Protestants.

    Like

  4. Pingback: Prepare to meet God – Wrestling with Faith – Dancing with Jesus | Re-theologizing

  5. God will meet you where you’re at, He speaks to you in your dreams, in the stillness of the night, your garden, in the words of a friend, song lyrics etc…. Just keep praying and asking for God to show you the way, to give you the answers you need in a way that is so obvious that you can’t deny Him. May God answer all your prayers. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I would add that God also speaks to us through the voices of other persons aroud us—friends or strangers—which gives us always a need to listen to what others are saying to us. — It may be God speaking to us. Thank you for your inpiring insight!.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. The Lord does speak through other people and the ways of hearing God speak are many. I just picked one and went with that… Thank you for reading. Praying for you my dear friend ❤

      Like

  7. “I silence myself, I try to be still, concentrating on the Lord… and some days it just doesn’t work!” — How well I know this. There are day I just cannot “get in the zone” so to say. However, even days I cannot get in the zone are better than the days when I do not even try in the first place.

    Like

  8. Great post, I totally agree (thought the cartoon with the lap top and phone particularly apt). I think so many folks are almost afraid to get quiet these days, but it is so important to hear that still small voice!
    I have “logs” on my laptop of things Jesus showed me during that morning quiet time with Him spanning ten years. They are a treasure to me for those days when I just don’t seem to be able to “tune in”. God bless you sister1

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I was listening to John Eldredge the other day and he said something that stuck with me, ‘God doesn’t like to speak loudly.’ Kinda like how I feel with my children, I don’t like using my loud voice with them. And I think God perfectly illustrated that when Elijah was in the cave on Horeb waiting for Yahweh to pass by. And there was the wind, the fire, the earthquake, all world shaking loud events, but only when things died down and became quiet did Elijah walk out of the cave to meet Yahweh. He came in a whisper 🙂 which I think is beautiful.

    Plus I think Elijah could’ve had a really stout brew there! The Mount Horeb roast, Sinai Blend? Haha!

    Like

Leave a Reply

