Psalm 34 – The voice (& NLT)

tears.jpeg

As my last post “What book?” clearly indicated, I was facing a critical, sad, mentally rough time and I asked what book in His Holy Word to read, when dealing with grief. With many responses I got places to start, so from the bottom of my heart, I thank those who commented.

 

how-grief-works.jpgI was desperately seeking relief of the heavy pain that grief placed upon my shoulders. Daily people loose people to death, expected and unexpected deaths. Daily some poor soul will face grief. Some looses loved ones to heaven and in their grief they can rejoice in knowing their loved one went to a better place. I’m not in that position, though I make the conscious choice of believing at least my dad went to heaven. But even so, the sting of grief, stings those who are left behind.

advent-tears.jpg

Only the Lord knew WHERE my relief were to be found. In HIS care, HIS peace and in HIS promises alone.

No book of the Bible could help me feel better, but only the truth of His promises – and by His mercy, for His Glory, the Lord orchestrated a Bible verse sent to my inbox through one of the many daily devotion automatic mail subscriptions that are in existence.

When I read it, I immediately knew this was from my Jesus!

 

Psalm 34:17-19 (the Voice)

17 When the upright need help and cry to the Eternal, He hears their cries
    and rescues them from all of their troubles.
18 When someone is hurting or brokenhearted, the Eternal moves in close
    and revives him in his pain.
19 
Hard times may well be the plight of the righteous—
    they may often seem overwhelmed
    but the Eternal rescues the righteous from what oppresses them.

Or the New Living Translation (if you prefer):

The Lord hears his people when they call to him for help.
He rescues them from all their troubles.
The Lord is close to the brokenhearted;
he rescues those whose spirits are crushed.
The righteous person faces many troubles
but the Lord comes to the rescue each time.

When we loose a loved one, who decided not to follow Jesus, the grief is devastating and riding that tidal wave seems impossible. Adding to that is the simple yet tremendous loss of the love that can no longer be received. In other words: it’s okay to be devastatingly sad!

Do Believers/Christians often feel a pressure to “be okay”, because we have the hope living in us, so rejoice!? – Are pastors quick to say “Do not direct your anger at God. That’s a sin”? – Do we watch friends/church families loose loved ones (saved and unsaved) and just carry on with their lives because “be joyful always” linger in their ears?… I wonder how many tears are cried behind closed doors, because we are seemingly expected to behave in a certain way.  My point is that young believers learn from older believers and if the older believers hide their grief or do not share that there is pain involved and it’s okay, it becomes all the more difficult to talk about.

Let’s not forget that Jesus grieved too. He was also human with feelings. He knows.

psalm34_17reduced.jpg
But the Lord comes close and through His presence, I was rescued once more from the pit of despair. I must “shake it off”… as hard as it is, it’s the only way forward and I can only do that while clinging on to my God.

He is my family, my Father, my brother and my Light. He is my portion and He is enough.

Remain Blessed in Him at all times, no matter what you go through

griefhealing homepage.jpg

17 thoughts on “Psalm 34 – The voice (& NLT)

  1. If your grief is of concern to you remember also the words of Paul in Galatians 5:22,23:
    22 But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, longsuffering, gentleness, goodness, faith,
    23 Meekness, temperance: against such there is no law.

    particularly the word ‘longsuffering’. Christ also suffered and we are to be like unto Him. It is ok to suffer for a time, there is a time for everything. But in Him we also have Hope and the Promise of Joy everlasting. In Christ we can overcome the feelings of desolation or isolation of grief.

    It may be that what we feel serves a purpose so maybe see if this time is able to teach you something you may have not otherwise had a reason to search out?

    Love.

    Like

    1. “love” without God is the false message of the Pharisees.

      Jesus warned us [Luke 11:42]
      “Woe to you Pharisees, because you give God a tenth of your mint, rue and all other kinds of garden herbs, but you NEGLECT justice and THE LOVE OF GOD.”

      Paul the Pharisee wrote:
      “The entire law is summed up in a single command: ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.'”
      [Galatians 5:14]

      Liked by 1 person

  2. If we are following Jesus of the Gospels, HIS voice should be above other voices in authority.

    Poem – What is love?

    Two men came to Jesus
    With different motivations.
    They asked Him the same question
    Relevant to all the nations:

    Which is the Most Important?
    The answer was the same.
    Jesus did not manipulate
    He was not there to play a game.

    “Love the Lord your God” said Jesus
    as He quoted from The Law –
    to fulfill and not abolish
    was His purpose, full of awe.

    Jesus did not make all Scripture
    Into one new great commandment.
    He summarized The Law and Prophets
    “First and Greatest” and “The Second.”

    The Love of God is higher
    Than the love of any man.
    Receive from God, give back to God-
    Then to others, that’s His plan.

    The Love of God involves much more
    Than simply “love your fellow man.”
    Worship, trust, and pray to God,
    and obey Him – that’s His plan

    To worship and pray to neighbors,
    Whoever they may be,
    Or trust and obey our enemies
    Would be idolatry.

    The love of God is first and greatest,
    And the love of man is second.
    “All we need is love” are words
    of dead Beetles on the pavement.

    “The entire law is summed up in a single command”
    are not the words of Jesus our Salvation.
    It’s false teaching of Paul the Pharisee
    “an accuser of our brethren.”

    “Love” without God is Satan’s word through Paul
    in his chapter to the Corinthians.
    “I will show you the most excellent way”
    is the road to eternal perdition.

    Where is God in Paul’s chapter on love?
    Nowhere in view of the eye.
    Paul sings about himself like a Mexican Mariachi
    “I, I, I, I.”

    Jesus is The Most Excellent Way
    Not the words of a Pharisee.
    The words of Jesus are very clear.
    Jesus said, “You must follow ME.”

    Like

      1. My blog is inactive. I am “going” as Jesus said, and letting the voice of Jesus be heard in other places, about what Jesus said is “most important.”

        Jesus was asked twice which Commandment is the greatest or most important one, (Matthew 22 and Mark 12)
        Both times Jesus answered quoting the same two commandments, from the Law of Moses.

        Jesus said that one of these two commandments is the first and greatest most important one. Which one is it? The one in Deuteronomy 6, or the one in Leviticus 19 ?

        “The most important one,” answered Jesus, “ is this: ‘Hear, of Israel, the Lord our God, the Lord is one. Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind and with all your strength.’ [Mark 12:29-30, Deuteronomy 6:4-5]

        Jesus replied: “’Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind.’ This is the first and greatest commandment.” [Matthew 22:37-38, Deuteronomy 6:5]

        Liked by 1 person

    1. The word love can be very confusing for most of us humans. Human love is, or can be, a very different thing to the Love of (that is) God. We can love God with all our heart but that is not necessarily the same thing as having the Love (Spirit) of God within our hearts or minds.

      Only God can put his Love/Spirit with us, whereas we are free to love God as well as our fellow human (or anything else for that matter) or not, as is our will, but by so doing we do not put His Love within ourselves and we deceive ourselves if we believe this is so.

      Personally, i choose to believe the Beatles meant His Love, not our human kind.

      Having said that i thank you for giving me more of Him to consider.

      Love.

      Like

      1. lwbut
        I appreciate your thoughtful response. Yet, the point I was illustrating with my poem is that HOW we love God is DIFFERENT from how we love people. We pray to and worship God – not to people, or any other thing or being.

        We should always try to obey God – the Lord God Jesus the Christ, who came to fulfill the Law and the Prophets, not abolish them. Sometimes we should obey people – but not always.

        We should always have our faith in God and trust God – we should not trust our enemies, even though we need to love them in an appropriate way.

        Yes we need God’s supernatural love in order to love God first, and love people second – but the ways of expressing love to God are not identical to how we express love to people. Yes there is overlap. Loving people is not optional- but there is more to loving God than simply loving people with God’s love.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. So sorry for your loss. I agree that God knew exactly what you needed to hear and read and He orchestrated that so you would see it and it would comfort you. Grief is different for all of us. My father passed away in September and he did believe in Jesus and even had visions of the angels coming to carry him home to his Father. I can only imagine how sad this time is for you. I find, for me, at 51, my grief comes in waves. When he first passed, it took several months to not get too emotional to talk about him or think about him without tears forming. Now it just hits, out of nowhere. It might be song I hear on the radio, or an old movie that I know was his favorite. And when it happens, I just let the tears form and fall. I wear my heart on my sleeve, so most people aren’t surprised when I start crying for an unknown reason to them. My advice, which you are free to ignore, is allow yourself all the time you need to grieve the loss of your parent. There is no time limit. Continue to press into Jesus and he will carry you when you don’t know what to say or do. Much love and blessings.

    Like

    1. Thank you for your kind comment. I’m sorry for your loss! My dad passed away in August and grief does come in waves. I do give myself time and I trust you are too. Leaning in to Jesus… Bless you.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Wow. I’m just glad you received that verse in your inbox. God really makes Himself heard in His own mysterious ways! And you’re right… We shouldn’t feel the pressure to be happy all the time just because we’re Christians. We’re also human and have feelings! I just hope God blesses you profoundly and brings an unexpected joy to your heart as you deal with this tough time and emotions!

    Like

  5. Beautifully written post. Thank you for sharing. Praise God for His grace and speaking to you through this Verse. My deepest sympathy to you and your loved ones.

    Like

  6. I cannot think of a Bible verse more fitting than Psalm 34:17-19. I believe Jesus sent this one to you for the very reason you were seeking the comfort you need.

    Like

Leave a Reply

