What book?

I need suggestions and God’s guidance.

Recently I have been hearing the voice of both my mom and dad and remembering clearly my childhood home and garden. It’s not in any way scary or as if they have come back to tell me something. I’m just remembering what they said and how and my childhood but recently it’s been much more than in the past. I think it’s pretty normal when processing grief.

But it’s weighing heavily on me and I want to sit down and let the tears flow, but my daughter is home on summer vacation now and I can’t fall to pieces in front of her (due to her anxiety issues) and I need God. I want to know what book of the Bible to read. I’m not finding relief in His Word the way I usually do and that isn’t right.

Crown-and-Bible.jpg

32 thoughts on “What book?

  1. God bless you! Praying for you during this difficult time. I believe God will speak to your heart the perfect verses to bring you peace, especially since you seem like someone who has invested time into His Word. Sometimes, that quiet time alone with him will give you the answers you need, even if you’re not so sure of what that is yourself.

    Like

  2. transformergirl

    I’m sorry for your loss. I honestly can’t say I know what you’re going through and I see you have plenty of recommendations and advice here already so I won’t post and of that. Just wanted to let you know that I’m praying for you through this difficult time. 🙏💗

    Like

    1. Thank you. I appreciate your comment non the less and welcome aboard wrestling with faith – dancing with Jesus. It’s good to have you here.
      – I’m doing better and will post something about that soon… Thanks for sticking around.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. 1 Thessalonians 4:13-18Amplified Bible (AMP)

    Those Who Died in Christ
    13 Now we do not want you to be uninformed, believers, about those who are asleep [in death], so that you will not grieve [for them] as the others do who have no hope [beyond this present life]. 14 For if we believe that Jesus died and rose again [as in fact He did], even so God [in this same way—by raising them from the dead] will bring with Him those [believers] who have fallen asleep in Jesus. 15 For we say this to you by the Lord’s [own] word, that we who are still alive and remain until the coming of the Lord, will in no way precede [into His presence] those [believers] who have fallen asleep [in death]. 16 For the Lord Himself will come down from heaven with a shout of command, with the voice of the [a]archangel and with the [blast of the] trumpet of God, and the dead in Christ will rise first. 17 Then we who are alive and remain [on the earth] will simultaneously be caught up (raptured) together with them [the resurrected ones] in the clouds to meet the Lord in the air, and so we will always be with the Lord! 18 Therefore comfort and encourage one another with these words [concerning our reunion with believers who have died].

    God bless You I will also keep you in my Prayers xx

    Like

    1. Thank you… I appreciate your time and effort, but verses such as these address the issue of grief when your loved one was a believer. I’m to this day not 100% certain my dad was and my mom definitely was not. I guess I’m not mourning their death but the memories and knowing it’s a time past (it’s too late). I have found relief in psalm 34 and by continuously asking the Lord for the strength and comfort to go on.
      Thank you for the prayers. With love ❤

      Like

  4. That morning quiet time is so valuable. When my kids were little, it seemed like the earlier I got up (planning on having some ‘alone time’ with the Lord), the earlier my kids woke up. They just seemed to KNOW when I was up and BINGO! They were up, too. Getting up earlier didn’t work until they reached high school age!

    Finally I learned a secret. We were visiting a friend, and discovered that when she wanted quiet time, she had her 6-year-old son come along with her with HIS Bible. She wasn’t always sure what would happen, but he would either sit quietly and pray himself, or he would ask if he could go play. Either way, she ended up having time to read and pray.

    In your situation, where you need to allow the tears to flow, another option is the one I used when my kids were still toddling, my husband was away at sea, and I was feeling overwhelmed – I ‘went to the bathroom.’ Not exactly ideal (nor am I sure how ‘reverent’ that was), but the tears could flow without upsetting the kids and I DID get to unburden myself with the Lord.

    Another perspective: A dear friend had a son and a daughter ages 8 and 10. She had taught them that when she was really angry with them or upset about something, she would go to her bedroom, shut the door and pray. The kids themselves told me that they found this very reassuring. They knew that if she was angry, she wasn’t going to “go off on them” in anger, but instead would deal with them according to what the Holy Spirit showed her, which was much more just and loving than parental anger would have been. When she was upset about something unrelated to them, they knew that when she came out of her bedroom, she would be much more positive and upbeat because of the Spirit’s guidance and encouragement. The best part was that her son told me that he and his sister had learned to follow their mother’s example, and that THEY went to THEIR rooms to pray when THEY were upset or angry. I’ve often wished I had used this approach myself.

    Not sure if ANY of that will be useful to you, but perhaps it is a comfort simply to know that the rest of us have had to struggle to find ways to deal with pain and grief, and somehow we do it. May the Spirit lead you in the way that YOU should go!!! Praying with and for you, dear one!

    Like

    1. Thanks Sue ❤ – I too have learned that bathroom stalls are great prayer places!! and going to my bedroom was a solution I used just yesterday (for the first time… go figure. Maybe the lord was speaking what you wrote). I really needed to "unleash" but haven't been fully able to yet. However, I'm doing better and finding my way back up from the pit of sadness! Yesterday, Jesus turned my Bible page to psalm 34 and it just hit home. Love you ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  5. 1 Kings 19 is a beautiful revelation of the tenderness of God’s loving kindness for us… I return to this over and over. I pray he will minister to you with his still small voice as you rest in him in the midst of grief. …’for he knows how we are formed, he remembers that we are dust…’ (Ps 103:14)

    Like

    1. Thank you! I like 1 Kings 19 too and I love how God speaks through the still small voice and not in the big thunder, quakes or wind. I’m bouncing around in the psalms right now and in 1 Cor 6 where it says He lives in me and I belong to Him. Thanks for the prayers.

      Like

  6. I can relate about hearing your mum and dad through memories. I oftentimes hear my Mum that way. I miss her so much.

    A morning walk (or evening if you prefer) is a great time to have God time to tell Him what is on your mind. It can be a time of much revelation in His Word.

    I have a “chart” that shows all the Psalms and which ones to pray for different needs. If you would like to see it you can contact me through my contact page. If not, I can just post it on my site and you can save the image to your computer.

    I hope you find comfort in your time with Him.

    Blessings to you!

    Like

  7. Dear Lene,
    I do not know the pain you are going through, but I certainly understand your situation.Therefore instead of suggesting whole books, I would suggest setting your mind upon these scriptures:

    1. Hebrews 2:17-18 (NKJV)
    “Therefore, in all things He had to be made like His brethren, that He might be a merciful and faithful High Priest in things pertaining to God, to make propitiation for the sins of the people. For in that He Himself has suffered, being tempted, He is able to aid those who are tempted.”

    Jesus being God was fully man and he understands what it is to be hurt, humiliated, broken, despaired, mocked, reviled, abandoned, crushed, wounded and abused. Let Him comfort us by changing our focus to Him and what He has done for us.

    2. Colossians 1:13-14 (NKJV)
    “He has delivered us from the power of darkness and conveyed us into the kingdom of the Son of His love, in whom we have redemption through His blood, the forgiveness of sins.”

    We are no longer in the dominion of darkness because of what Jesus Christ did for us. We are redeemed and forgiven. If we haven’t forgiven anybody (including the most nearest and dearest ones), now is the time to do so . Let go and forgive.

    3. Romans 12:1-2 (NKJV)
    “I beseech you therefore, brethren, by the mercies of God, that you present your bodies a living sacrifice, holy, acceptable to God, which is your reasonable service. And do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind, that you may prove what is that good and acceptable and perfect will of God.”

    This is the key verse to get out of any hole we are stuck in. The ‘Renewing of our mind’. Let God’s comforting and assuring words renew our mind and ease us of all the pain and hurt.

    4. 2 Corinthians 5:17 (NKJV)
    “Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation; old things have passed away; behold, all things have become new.”

    Believe it. Old things have passed away and live in the new and experience the new. It’s time to get out of the cage called ‘old’ and live in the liberated world Jesus brought us into.

    5. Romans 7:18 (NKJV)
    “For I know that in me (that is, in my flesh) nothing good dwells;”

    When our mind (thoughts and emotions) is focused on the flesh the outcome is nothing good. Dwelling on the spirit lifts and builds us up and strengthens us.

    6. Proverbs 23:7 (NKJV)
    “For as he thinks in his heart, so is he”
    &
    1 Corinthians 2:16 (NKJV)
    “For who has known the mind of the Lord that he may instruct Him? But we have the mind of Christ.”

    Our life follows our thinking. To change your life change your thinking. God has given us the mind of Christ, we can only experience it when we are conscious of it in spirit.

    Finally, I cannot end without praying for you:
    Father I pray for my friend Lene who needs your help at this very moment. You have made the provision of comfort and peace through your son Jesus Christ. Thank you Lord and I speak peace, healing and restoration into the life of Lene and her daughter. Holy Spirit you are the comforter and teacher guide Lene into all truth and help her experience oneness with you. Pain, hurt, anxiety, depression and grief I command you to leave the life of Lene right now. Amen.

    Like

  8. Prayers your way. It can be hard to find purpose when it seems like so much is weighing on you. Lately, it seems like everyone is telling me to pray about “it.” All of the “it”s. I think, with your supporters and you praying- the Holy Ghost will show you what to do!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Sometimes I find it easier to read books written by ministers that I enjoy listening to, on the particular subject that I’m dealing with. For example, Joyce Meyers helped me a LOT with insecurities and Bishop TD Jakes helped me when I wanted to better understand my destiny and purpose. I find that these books have great references to Bible stories and I’ll stop and read that particular story and go from there. I’ll also add you to my prayer list and lift you up before God tonight. I pray that a spirit of peace and direction would be your portion.

    Like

    1. Thank you. I appreciate the prayer and advice. I was reading max lucado’s “you’ll get through this” while my dad was in hospital and hospice but tossed the book… Honestly, I couldn’t deal with that one. I found his “facing your giants” to be of much more help. But in this case, I’m not sure which books to look for. Grief is grief and we all have to get through it. Whether our loved ones were saved or not.

      Liked by 1 person

  10. A couple of reading suggestions for you… Job, Ecclesiastes and Psalms, if you enjoy poetry. And if you prefer prose, the gospel of Mark or the letter of Philippians. 1 Corinthians 15 and Romans 8 are great individual chapters. And one question… can you journal your feelings? If you need a nice quiet way to process your thoughts, this can be a great way to express grief. Or, if you have a good Christian friend–someone you trust, who is a great listener with an empathetic heart–meet them somewhere quiet, and tell them what you’re experiencing.

    Like

    1. Thank you ❤️. It’s a little more complicated but I’ll look into the mentioned books. I appreciate the suggestions and it might give me s start 👍. So thank you!!

      Like

  11. Joel

    Other than the Word, the book God has spoken the most to me through is Journey of Desire (rereleased as Desire in 2007) by John Eldredge. It helped me come to know and fall in love with Jesus, oh so deeply, through a very difficult time.

    Like

  12. Pray to God the Father, the Son, and to the Holy Spirit — our Comforter. You really do need some alone time so that you can hear God’s quiet, still voice. I’m sure your daughter will understand. Can you take a walk alone to pray and ask for guidance? It’s cathartic to cry. I’ll be praying for you.

    Like

    1. I thank you for your prayers Michelle. They are needed and I’m very grateful. I do need to be alone to cry it out but my daughter is home and though she may understand, her separation anxiety and seeing me like that will reinforce her fears of loosing me. I may be fine tomorrow, but I’m asking the Lord for help, as you say. Love ❤️

      Like

      1. That used to be my time too – coffee morning with Jesus – but since the summer vacation began and sun rises earlier my daughter wakes up early too… I so miss my mornings. Maybe that’s why I’m in such turmoil..!?!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

