Japan… will rise again.

I wasn’t going to write anything about Japan’s latest many, many, many… many earthquakes in the Kumamoto prefecture.
But then I watched the news and saw the photos and like a case of PTSD it all came back to me: 3.11.2011 the great eastern triple disaster.

Scrolling through tags in blogs I follow, I came across “earthquake” and I decided to jot down a few words:

Kumamoto is the prefecture on the most western island of Japan named Kyushu (and opposite of the Tokyo region in the east).
It was struck by a 6,5 M earthquake Thursday night and again on Saturday in the middle of the night a 7,3 M hits. For the next 7 days earthquakes of various sizes will continue relentlessly, experts say. Roads are broken, houses fallen down in ruins, landslides etc.
People were killed. Many have left their homes for shelter at local schools and community centers.

Kyushu does have an atomic powerplant, but it’s located on the southern tip of Kyushu island. It may be affected though so far we are told it has not. Mt. Aso is a volcano and a small eruption was observed. We can’t know if an eruption will come. Experts says no, but we also know that there are connections between earthquakes and volcanic activity.

But this is what the Lord had for me this morning, in light of the stress that followed 3.11 and I ask you to whisper this prayer with me for all the people of Kumamoto:

Lamentations 3:20-26 (GNT)

… – my spirit is depressed.

Yet hope returns when I remember this one thing: 

The Lord‘s unfailing love and mercy still continue,

Fresh as the morning, as sure as the sunrise.

The Lord is all I have, and so in him I put my hope.

160415090321-02-japan-earthquake-0415-super-169.jpg

5 thoughts on “Japan… will rise again.

  1. Kære Lene.
    Mange beder for Japan. ❤ fra Susanne.

    … og min sjæl fortvivler.
    Men dette lægger jeg mig på sinde, derfor vil jeg vente: Herrens troskab er ikke hørt op, hans barmhjertighed er ikke forbi, den er ny hver morgen; din trofasthed er stor.
    Jeg siger: Herren er min lod, derfor venter jeg på ham.
    Herren er god mod den, der håber på ham, mod det menneske, der søger ham.
    Det er godt at vente i tavshed på Herrens frelse, …
    Klages 20-26

    Like

Leave a Reply

