Doubt and dance

Matthew 14:31 (the Voice)
Immediately Jesus reached for Peter and caught him.
Jesus: O you of little faith. Why did you doubt and dance back and forth between following Me and heeding fear?

If I just swopped Peter’s name for mine… and had to answer that question in my circumstances and century… “Why did you doubt and dance back and forth between following Me and heeding fear?”
– Because Lord, I doubt you sometimes. Especially the hard times. My faith is smaller than a mustard seed and though my heart is aching to follow You into anything, my mind and flesh is weak and is easily shaken.
After everything we have been through together Jesus, I have no answer as to why I doubt You when life gets hard. I can’t tell You why I heed the fear and give in to anxiousness.
I wish I could. Then maybe I could live the fearless resilient life I wish for.

But one thing I must remember is that a little faith, can go a long way… I can choose to have trust that things will work out and be okay.

And notice in the Bible verse above how Jesus “Immediately reaches out and catches Peter”?
Well Lord, You have a hold of my heart too.

loa-quote2.png

 

 

3 thoughts on “Doubt and dance

  1. Pastor Jim nailed it!

    We can add that as we walk in obedience despite our doubt, and as we allow God to work in our circumstances, He quickly PROVES His trustworthiness. It becomes easier and easier to trust Him to get us through those rough times, and even to see the blessings in them. It is in the rough times that we get to see Him in His Glory, working miracles in us and around us and being His Amazing Self! What joy!

    Our faith walk is a process – we must be patient with ourselves, but not complacent. Like the toddler who repeatedly falls but keeps getting up to walk again despite his scraped knees, we must have that attitude of “I’ll get it next time!” – cuz we WILL!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. It seems to me that doubt is not a sign of weak faith, but is a sign of a faith that is maturing and getting stronger. . If you don’t have doubt, there can be no growth in faith because we are just accepting what we have been told to believe. As our doubts are overcome by our experiences of God’s presence working in our lives, especially during times of crisis, then our faith grows based upon those experiences. If we just accept things we are told about God and never doubt them, then we never let that be doubted or tested and there is no room for us to experience God and for our faith to grow. Think about it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

