Moving out

It’s settled and finale: We are moving!
Though I have been looking forward to finding a different place to live, I wasn’t prepared for the sudden notice of relocation or the huge work load it is for us all to do the move.
Finding a place to live didn’t take a long time, basically because we didn’t have the option of spending months looking around. But I sense that we have found a nice place, in a somewhat nice location, in a decent community building/condominium type and though the place is old – about 40 years which in Japan is outrageously old – it’s almost newly renovated and so, it looks and feels quite nice.

My only hesitation with this place is the kitchen. It’s 40 years old… with a few new things, but the cupboard doors look like something terrible happened to them. Though it’s a rental place and I may not actually be allowed to “make changes” I do believe I will break the rules and fold some nice looking “sticky paper” around them so they at least look like they are not falling apart!

We move on Valentines day. Crazy day really to do such a thing when you’re supposed to sit in a nice cozy restaurant with your beloved and munch chocolates… But then again; How often do we in this family do what we are supposed to do? Not often…

My daughter is having a nightmarish time with this move. She wants to move and decorate her own playroom etc, but she doesn’t want to move and gets stomachaches and nausea when thinking about it. I have no idea how to help her through this time and quite frankly; Her counselor didn’t seem to think my girl thought it was a big deal. Well, it is. She drags me to the toilet rooms and starts crying because of this move – while we are at the counselor. I’m beginning to wonder if taking Maia to the counselor really is worth it?!

My husband is working way too hard for a man “his age”. While in university I’m sure you can stay up all night and get through the day after without too much trouble, but my hubby dearest is running on the spare engine by now. He returns from a business trip to China with a cold/tummybug, doesn’t sleep most of the night because he has to deal with tons of “moving stuff” paper work as well as his normal work. The recovery from this cold is delayed to put it mildly. He is on 2nd week now with no improvement in sight. Ask a man to see a doctor… so I didn’t, but I did ask him (read: urge!!) to take a sick day off and stay home in bed doing nothing! We shall see what he chooses to do, but I am worried that if he doesn’t stop this pleasing of the company, he will end up hurting himself and then the company with him.

As for me – I will love the Lord.
And pray like it’s religion.
And hope like I’ve never hoped before.
And with His strength I can carry the load. With His love I can carry love to others. With His truth my cracked heart will shine.

P1000078

2 thoughts on “Moving out

  1. Thank you so much my dear Sue!
    That is great advice – that moving is a natural part of life, not stressful and just fun and full of new adventures. The thing about Maia is that we are only moving about 1 km from where we live now. It takes about 10 min to walk there… she is not moving school or anything really big, so I am perplexed about her issues with this. She tells me she looks forward to decorating the room, but she doesn’t want to say goodbye to her “perfect” house (which is far from perfect!). I think it’s the saying goodbye part that wears her down. If only, if only, if only – she would TRUST the Lord so He could take her pain away. Praying for her and I thank you deeply for your prayers for her too!
    Love you loads. ❤

    Like

  2. Everything you write, Lene, makes me just love you more! ❤ How I wish I could be there to help you with the packing and cleaning!! (I have lived in more houses than I am years old, so I am experienced, to say the least!! 🙂 )

    Still praying with you about your daughter. The only advice I can give you is to model an attitude that assumes that moving is NOT stressful, it is interesting, fun, brings good things AND IS A NORMAL PART OF LIFE. That's what my folks did for my sister and me, so our many moves were always a thrill for us. Mom would make sure we got a new toy or two on the actual moving day (nothing fancy – just something to keep us occupied in the car during the drive). She and dad would find something special to do during the move (little things, like going to a park or going out to eat – which we NEVER did normally). Once in the new place, Mom would help us get our rooms settled first – she'd have us draw pictures to put on the wall, take us to get a new floor rug or something simple for our rooms, etc. Everything was done with a quiet attitude of "this is normal life." No excessive excitement or happiness, no constantly talking about how 'great' things were gonna be. They were realists and taught us to be realists. Some things would be great, other things wouldn't be so great – that's how life is. That gave us the tools we needed with which to cope with change and weird stuff.

    Going to a new school was the hardest thing of all. I was a happy and optimistic child, but I still remember the stomach knots the first day at a new school. It helped that my folks did not make a big deal of it. They conveyed the idea that yes, it really IS a LITTLE tough to go to a new school, but that it is also a short-term experience – soon that school would be as familiar to me as the old one, and I would have just as many friends. They reminded me that it was MY job to make friends. That was really hard for me – I was shy and scared. They would remind me that the OTHER kids were just as shy and scared of me as I was of them. My job was to reach out to them and show them care and friendship. (They weren't even Christians, but they operated on biblical principles.) As I did, MOST of them (though not all) would respond. It helped a lot to know that. 🙂 And Mom and Dad were right – usually I had a number of friends by the end of the first week.

    I admire my mom so much and am so grateful to her. Often during our moves, Dad had already gone on ahead to report to his new duty station. That left Mom handling everything herself. It was terribly hard for her, yet she never gave us the slightest inkling of that. (She didn't share that until years later when we had grown and were gone from home.) She always acted as though things were just as they should be. That gave us such an IMMENSE sense of security!!! Being a parent can be really hard!!!

    So anyway, I'll get off my 'preaching' mode and tell you that I am praying with you and for you. Also praying for your hubby – they can really push the envelope too hard at times!

    Blessings in Messiah – His Spirit will strengthen and encourage you as you strengthen and encourage your sweet family!!

    Sue

    Like

Leave a Reply

