Believe and pray – Pray and believe

One of the most amazing gifts God gives His people is the ability to hear Him.
Think about how grand that is… The God who holds the universe, is bigger than the universe, the Creator of the universe, has given you the ability to hear Him speak! Even if you are 100% deaf – God’s voice can be heard!

I have many things to ask the Lord for and I have had for a long time.
Recently, praying for my dad and for my girl has been hard. I don’t really know why but I would pray and mean it – but somewhere inside my heart I was doubting if God would actually do it.
Faith is not knowing that God can, but that He will… “Ask and you shall receive”:

– Mark 11:24 “Therefore I tell you, whatever you ask for in prayer, believe that you have received it, and it will be yours.”

But praying for the incredible miracle it surely will take for my dad to believe left me doubting if God would do that. Praying for my daughter seems like a never ending emotional roller coaster. The struggles she is facing and my own desire to give her a deeper knowledge and trust in Jesus left me wondering if my prayers were selfish, ignorant, possible… But then God spoke:

James 1:6 “But when you ask, you must believe and not doubt, because the one who doubts is like a wave of the sea, blown and tossed by the wind.”

– And I immediately realized that He just wanted me to trust that He would answer and do as I prayed He would do. But I was doubting. Not that He could, but if He would.

If I believe in Jesus, then I will pray.
And when I pray, I must believe Him.

So instead of praying and praying and praying, I began praying and believing that God will do as I ask Him.

Since then, despite my dad’s situation is still the same or possibly worsening, my daughter is slowly opening up and showing her emotions more clearly in places and with people whom she would not open up to before. Her counselor being one of them. Her teacher another. Without a doubt; God’s hand is working in her life and just the other morning we had a conversation about love and loving others and as she complained a bit I asked her; “How can I show you that I love you?”
And as she walked through the school doors she turned and said “Pray for me”.
That is something I dare to promise her.

I shall pray and I will believe His hands are working even before “amen”.
Amen.

miracles.

2 thoughts on “Believe and pray – Pray and believe

Leave a Reply

