Worry me some anxiousness

Or maybe try “Get anxious about worries”. Point is: Everybody worries about something at some point in their lives. If you don’t, let me Praise the Lord for keeping you so well protected… or perhaps I will ask if you are fully human. The big question is: How do you choose to deal with the worries?

Worried-face

In 1 Kings 3:7-12 King Solomon asks God for wisdom and his request is granted:

O Lord my God, now you have made me the king instead of my father David, but I am as a little child who doesn’t know his way around… Give me an understanding mind so that I can govern your people well and know the difference between what is right and what is wrong. For who by himself is able to carry such a heavy responsibility?” 10 The Lord was pleased with his reply and was glad that Solomon had asked for wisdom. 11 So he replied, “Because you have asked for wisdom in governing my people and haven’t asked for a long life, or riches for yourself, or the defeat of your enemies— 12 yes, I’ll give you what you asked for! 

Was King Solomon perhaps about 20 years old when he asked for wisdom? How wise for such a young person! Perhaps his role model, the man after God’s own heart King David, had a little something to do with that.

So what about us. What about me – an average housewife, with a love for painting the Lord’s images and a load full of circumstances I wish I didn’t have to deal with. How do I pray? What do I pray for? Like Solomon I have a “people to govern” (a child in special circumstances and a husband without faith whom I must be submissive to in order to obey God). I have friendships, relationships with God’s people and in case you are Blessed with only great and wonderful friends then Praise the Lord, but most of us humans struggle at one time or another with each other. Even within God’s family. Or perhaps especially within God’s family.

Any prayer that is not selfish is good. Any outpouring of the heart kind of prayers, selfish emotions too, are good. And God can handle it. Trust me, He can!! But what do I ask for when I communicate with God? Strength to make it through the day. Protection from satanic attacks. Blessings of various kinds. Peace of heart and mind. Etc.

It strikes me that the most important request we can make is the wisdom to know right from wrong. The discerning mind only God can provide me with. Yes, I’m a descendant of the first parents who sinned by eating from the tree of knowledge of good and evil. I do know good from evil. But satan is a deceitful being and I can’t always tell right from wrong in the little things in my daily laundry basket.

So from now on I will write wisdom on the top of my prayer list. I will ask God to provide that so that I can make the right decisions, weigh the options on His scale and not mine. Make the right choices for my family and myself. And considering the words in Job 32:7-8

I thought to myself, “Age should speak first; those advanced in years will teach wisdom.” But alas, it turns out it is the spirit in a man, not age, and the breath of the Highest One within him that lends understanding.
My own personality is that as a worrying person. Worrying doesn’t help but I understand I’m created the way I am. Or shaped that way through my upbringing and the environment I have lived in all through my life up until this point.
However, I know that Lord God can certainly change my outlook and that could significantly help my daughter be more relaxed and possibly avoid more stomach bleedings and stress. My condition affects her. Though that is a huge and ugly thing to admit as a mom I do know it’s true.
Jesus is the best Counselor in the entire universe and He is always available.  I am very willing to let Him sit with me.
I trust He is protecting us under His wings. But Lord Almighty, may you grant me wisdom to govern Your little one whom You have entrusted into my care.
Praise the Lord for He is the shield, high tower and shelter.
2 thoughts on “Worry me some anxiousness

  1. AMEN!!!! Thanks so much for sharing this!

    Wisdom is the principal thing; therefore get wisdom: and with all thy getting get understanding. Prov 4:7

    For wisdom is better than rubies; and all the things that may be desired are not to be compared to it. Prov 8:11

    The fear [יִרְאָה (yir’ah)- respect, reverence, piety] of YHVH is the beginning of wisdom: and the knowledge of the holy is understanding. Prov 9:10

    The fear of YHVH is the instruction of wisdom; and before honour is humility. Prov 15:33

    YHVH said to Moses, “Come up to me on the mountain and stay here, and I will give you the tablets of stone with the law and commandments [mitzvot – specific regulations] I have written for their instruction.” Exo 24:12

    Behold, I have taught you statutes and judgments…. Keep therefore and do them; for this is your wisdom and your understanding in the sight of the nations… Deut 4:5-6

    Only [may] YHVH give thee wisdom and understanding, and give thee charge concerning Israel, that thou mayest keep the Torah of YHVH thy God. 1Chron 22:12

    Give me understanding, and I shall keep thy Torah; yea, I shall observe it with my whole heart. Ps 119:34

    For this cause we also, since the day we heard it, do not cease to pray for you, and to desire that ye might be filled with the knowledge of his will in all wisdom and spiritual understanding; Col 1:9

    Like

  2. I’m a natural born worrier, too. /and when I look back at the many years I’ve experienced God’s loving care, I wish I had learned early on to be more trusting. But we are so lucky/blessed to have God’s help in navigating the ups and downs of life, aren’t we?

    Like

Leave a Reply

