What’s in obedience?

There are many waves in my life and in the life of my family. We are in a matter of speaking in a small fishing boat floating on a sea a windsurfer would envy. This morning my time with the Lord was colored by my rantings and rather abundantly complaints about some things my husband did not say and did not do. And then feeling sorry for complaining about them. That’s often how it goes. Though the inactions of my husband are not right and might still get me pretty growling and angry, I know that God understands and as I surrendered my all to Him, I once again found peace.

This post is not about that however… After this prayer time and communication with God I open my Bible on Matthews account of the transfiguration and I thought – what..? transfiguration? Somehow I figured God would take me to a place where Paul holds a “thunder speech” on being kind, loving and obedient to your husband… But no; The transfiguration!

Matthew 17:5-7: “… a voice from the cloud said, “This is my Son, whom I love; with him I am well pleased. Listen to him!” When the disciples heard this, they fell facedown to the ground, terrified. But Jesus came and touched them. “Get up,” he said. “Don’t be afraid.”

What followed was “Only the God Almighty can speak from Heaven”. But then my mind told me – “hey, there are demonic attacks and black magic and the devil’s schemes and he can disguise himself in light” (NOT that that was what happened with Jesus and the transfiguration!!) but it dawned on me that the real battle is “not against flesh and blood, but in the spiritual realms” and it’s very very real. Because the spiritual realm, the world we can’t see, is so real and we are defenseless on our own, the only way for us to fight back, is to yield to God and obey His Word, because obedience to His Word is our defense against the attacks of the devil.

I knew all this.

I really did. It’s just that I sometimes, oftentimes, forget…

But then more came while sipping on the 2nd cup of strong Italian blend coffee; We cannot obey. In our human weakness and regardless of how strong our coffee is, we simply will be unable to obey God’s Word at all times. But Jesus told the disciples who were flat on their faces “Get up. Don’t be afraid”. That’s what He is telling everyone who wants to believe today too; “Get up. Don’t be afraid. I have overcome the world”. And lest I forget that too – satan is fierce, but completely powerless to God.

What’s in obedience? The strongest, if not the only, defense against satan and his army. But it’s not salvation and lately I have seen and heard many believers talk about costly grace in an abundance of ways, but obedience – is – not – salvation! God will put His Word in the hearts of His people, so they can stand against the devil’s schemes. God gives us the ability to turn away from temptation. We can’t do it on our own, though it’s easy to forget in the midst of a busy life, that we must rely on Him and not on our own understanding.

So “don’t be afraid” for Jesus is God, God is faithful, God is all-loving and infinitely merciful.

I am trusting the Lord to help me develop that “gentle and quiet spirit” proverbs talk about and will trust Him when I ask that He prompts my husband to act according to God’s will for the greater good of this family.

ATT0006810

4 thoughts on “What’s in obedience?

    1. Thanks so much. That’s very encouraging for me to read.
      There’s a “Follow” button up in the top right corner of the page. Click that and you should receive mails every time a new post comes.

      Like

Leave a Reply

