An hour with the Lord

Okay, I went detox… After this time of experiencing sadness in a way I have never felt before, I did what any sad girl would do: Pray. Well actually, I didn’t at first. My trouble wasn’t that I didn’t want to pray or didn’t have words, but rather that I had no alone time with peace to pray. But then one of those devotionals aimed at women was sent to my inbox and it began with this:

“…you are a chosen [woman], a royal priesthood, a holy [daughter], God’s special possession, that you may declare the praises of Him who called you out of darkness into His wonderful light.” 1 Peter 2:9

It came up in several places like facebook too and even in a book I’m reading. Being God’s special possession – wow, what a privilege! He called me into the light… So in the midst of the holiday ends, school starts, husband sick moments of my day I looked out the window and asked the Lord to give me the time and peace to be alone with Him.

You know what – God answers prayers!!

Sunday morning my daughter woke up too early as it has been a habit of hers lately (unknowingly taking my prayer time) but she fell asleep again and my husband was curled up in his duvet and thus, I snuck out – grabbed my Bible and made myself that cup of coffee and I sat down gazing out of the window as the sun was warming up the blue sky. It was magical – to be alone with my Jesus again. I told Him about all my sadness inside, I cried it out (okay, I sobbed!) and then I asked Him to give me the peace of heart and mind I needed. And He answered that prayer too.

I know I am now back where I am supposed to be. And… then again; Not quite. The Lord isn’t finished with me yet, thankfully and thus the verse that continually comes up for me to read, on facebook, in books, in devotionals, in sermons etc is this:

“Therefore, as God’s chosen people, holy and dearly loved, clothe yourselves with compassion, kindness, humility, gentleness and patience”. – Colossians 3:12 as well as Matthew 25:31-46 where Jesus talks about serving the least of His brothers and sisters. What I went through and may go through is also a call to serve Jesus by serving others. Showing them compassion and gentleness because I might know how they feel inside. It’s a call to turn around and encourage others.

Praise the Lord for bringing back colors to my life!

IMG_6736

3 thoughts on “An hour with the Lord

  1. Your words perfectly describe how I feel at times. Not enough time to spend with the Lord at times and crying out to Him in sobs at others…. But He knows our hearts and calls us by name. I pray that more hearts turn to Him and realize that intimacy with Him is the Key to overcoming. Thanks for sharing your heart and God bless you!!

    Like

  2. I had the same problem – it did not matter how early I got up in the morning to spend time in the Word and with the Lord (nor did it matter how quiet I was), because at least one of my kids and often both of them would wake up, too. For years the only private time I had with Him was when I used the bathroom! (And even then, there was usually a child or two outside the door, knocking or talking.) At the time, it was totally frustrating and often brought me to tears,. But in retrospect, my children’s constant demand for my love and attention has become a reminder of how insistent we – as the children of YHVH – should behave. We too should be constantly following in our Father’s footsteps and refusing to be separated from Him. Unlike us human parents, He is complete in Himself and needs no ‘me’ time, so that kind of persistent Love is what gives Him the greatest joy. ‘Thou shalt love YHVH thy God with ALL thy heart, with ALL thy mind and with ALL thy strength.”

    Thanks for sharing your experience – it reminded me of this important lesson. And the encouraging word is this: it has been many years in coming, but I now have hours of leisure time in which to study His Word and spend time with Him, and WHAT A JOY it is!!! I just wish that I had done what you are doing: recording the special moments and lessons that DO come so that they are not forgotten. Keep it up!!!

    Like

    1. Thank you for your honest sharing and positive outlook. In the midst of the storm it can be hard to see anything that might glorify Him, but in retrospect things often look different.
      Thanks for reading and walking with me on this journey.

      Like

Leave a Reply

