In the midst of the storm

photo

 

Denmark is a beautiful country and the beach areas are just gorgeous. But not much can beat the light of Scandinavia!

If you have been following my latest posts, you will know that my daughter and I are currently in Denmark visiting my dad who is terminally ill with prostate cancer. Getting here was a test of faith beyond imagination as my daughter, who is 7, got a bleeding stomach ulcer the day before we left… She got medicines but I came very close to canceling the trip. Praise the Lord that we have a wonderful Christian doctor who is willing to be on call 24/7.

Being here is tough. My dad is one thing, the consideration of my daughter’s needs is another, but my dad’s girlfriend to whom I owe thanks for being there for my dad during his hardest time, is a… trying to find a suitable christian word to describe her, but gave up. Let’s just say that jealousy and sensitivity is the ruling party in this home. Every single word I say can and might be twisted to the extreme. If I do not talk to her than she may complain to my dad that I do not like her. If I do talk to her then I say something wrong. If I help with the cleaning, then I am saying she is not doing a good enough job. If I cook dinner, then she sees it as if I tell her she can’t cook. Well… I can’t win.

I am back on full dosage of muscle relaxing medicine. Currently I can’t wait to get home, but we have another 1 1/2 week left. So I am asking for a prayer for me to have the strength to withstand and the patience to endure and the love to forgive. Thank you.

In Him with love.

2 thoughts on “In the midst of the storm

  1. Thank you Pastor Jim!
    Yes indeed Love is the key word. I have no doubt that without His Spirit within me I wouldn’t still be standing! I know that God loves this woman too and so must I.
    I am trying not to whine, but… okay, I’ll come out and just say it: What I would love and terribly miss is a Christ follower to show up in my path who would pray for and with me face-to-face. But there are no believers anywhere near this area and even if I could find a church within reasonable distance, I would need to bring my daughter and I can’t allow her to witness me break down in tears at this point. Her health is plenty fragile. Sorry for the long rant/reply, but I’m thankful for your comment and prayer.

    Like

  2. The key word you mentioned in your final sentence is “love”. Remember, as Paul writes in I Cor. 13– “love is patient; love is kind; love is not envious or boastful or arrogant or rude. (Love) bears all things, believes all things, hopes all things, endures all things. I am praying that this spirit of love will get you through all the difficulties you are facing now and that perhaps even break the wall of stone you seem to bumping against! God loves you and perhaps in some way you can pass on God’s love to those around you.and speak to their insecurities, jealousies and hostility.

    Like

Leave a Reply

