Peace within the storm – my faithful Lord

I look up and see the sky. I look down and see a rock. I look around and see a raging sea… Yet I am calm and standing. I have moments of despair and in those moments when I think this world can’t suck anymore out of me, it continues to suck… and I run to the Lord. Whom in return takes me to:

1 Peter 1:3-7:  “Let us give thanks to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ! Because of his great mercy he gave us new life by raising Jesus Christ from death. This fills us with a living hope, and so we look forward to possessing the rich blessings that God keeps for his people. He keeps them for you in heaven, where they cannot decay or spoil or fade away. They are for you, who through faith are kept safe by God’s power for the salvation which is ready to be revealed at the end of time. Be glad about this, even though it may now be necessary for you to be sad for a while because of the many kinds of trials you suffer. Their purpose is to prove that your faith is genuine.” 

He talks about the Living Hope. The hope that is alive – so maybe the trials are hard but His purpose is good and I’ll just keep my eye on the hope alive in me while He proves my faith is genuine. It’s not that easy but like I was talking to a dear friend of mine about; I am surprisingly still standing tall and calm, despite all the circumstances that seems to be more like a raging sea than still waters.

He doesn’t justify the struggles, trials and adversities nor does He justify satan’s attacks on my faith. What He does say is trust Him, my faith is being proven genuine (perhaps mainly to myself..?? but hopefully so others can see it too) and to keep my eye on what He puts in storage for me.

Today my family and I are heading out to visit the counselor taking my daughter in. Last week we had the intake session without my daughter so today will be their first meeting. There is peace within the storm.

 

One thought on “Peace within the storm – my faithful Lord

  1. “What He does say is trust Him, my faith is being proven genuine (perhaps mainly to myself..?? ” Very insightful statement. I often think that many of the things Y’shua asks me to go through are simply so that I will learn that I CAN trust Him and I CAN be victorious in Him. Maybe He is preparing us for some greater trials still ahead? Not a pleasant thought, but my hubby and I have found that with each trial, it becomes less of a “trial” and more of a “blessing” – so Big Trial? BIg Blessing!! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

