Mr. Chambers said a great many good things.

But this one stands out: 

“At times God puts us through the discipline of darkness to teach us to heed Him. Song birds are taught to sing in the dark, and we are put into the shadow of God’s hand until we learn to hear Him…Watch where God puts you into darkness, and when you are there keep your mouth shut. Are you in the dark just now in your circumstances, or in your life with God? Then remain quiet…When you are in the dark, listen, and God will give you a very precious message for someone else when you get into the light.” 
― Oswald Chambers 

What stands out to me is: When we are in the dark, we need to listen carefully for God and His precious message – so we can share it when He places us in the light. Through the hard times of life, this is uplifting I think. And for me personally it is truly a quote I find encouraging as way too much is happening in my life this season: My husband running away from any kind of fellowship, my daughter in need of counseling, my dad terminally ill, the Lord sending me off to “Nineveh”, a friend is moving away (and to the place I miss the most)… At some point, one fine day, I can share a precious message with someone else. 

I pray all who reads this will be Blessed richly in every way. 

 

3 thoughts on “Mr. Chambers said a great many good things.

  1. It is such a blessing to ‘discover” Oswald Chambers – such a man of insight and wisdom! And my husband John and I can vouch for the truth of the statement you quoted! It took us a couple of years to really learn the lesson – YHVH had to put us through a long series of what appeared to be horrible disasters and circumstances – but the experience was valuable above and beyond any price! Now we know that it is exactly when things are looking their absolute darkest and most impossible that THESE are the precise times when YHVH is inviting us to work hand in hand with Him to bring light into a dark world. Sometimes He wants to bless us, but the further along we get, the more we realize that He is actually asking us to be available as His instruments to bring blessing to others – often at our own ‘expense.’ I put the word ‘expense’ in quotes because personally, I don’t think there is any greater reward than being given the privilege to be used of YHVH for His purposes. Kinda like a new mother who immediately forgets the pain of childbirth in the joy of the new creature in her arms. Sounds like you are enjoying the ‘light’ of seeing Him at work in your dark places, and I rejoice with you, sweet sister!

    Like

  2. You sound like you are in the “dark place” now and you have rightly chosen to listen for God’s message for others, but please be aware that God may have a message for you also. You are God’s child and you are special to God. who is there with you in that dark place. You are never alone.

    Like

    1. leneijapan

      Thank you!
      Considering all the circumstances of my life right now, I have my moments of being in the dark place, but generally I am supernaturally standing tall in the light. This morning I was just turning pages in my Bible… ended up on Jonah 4 and yes indeed you are right: there is a message in there for me too.

      Like

Leave a Reply

