Twitching eye

Image

Have you ever had a twitch anywhere in the body? It’s… so annoying! Doctors say it’s usually caused by stress and I’ll vouch for that anytime. However, since I have passed the time of being beaten down by stress to the very core of my being, I shouldn’t have those twitches anymore.

But sometimes God allows us a “thorn” just like Paul had. Not that my eye twitching is anywhere near the pain Paul suffered!! My twitching eye is my cue and the first sign of my body giving way to stress again, letting me know that it’s time to kick back, cancel plans and take a relaxing day with Jesus! A twitching eye is my first sign of stress and tension in my body and it’s like God is telling me to stop and breath – and listen.

“Be still, and know that I am God” – is one of my favorite Bible verses. Because it says it all: Be still; Relax, let go, cast all your worries on Him. “Know”; Rest in His presence and believe He is with you. Know that He is sovereign and Lord and Savior and Almighty. “God”; He is God, not you. He knows the plans for you, not you. He understands you, knows you and will help you.

There are many things happening in my life right now: My dad is sick, an upcoming trip to Denmark is in the making (read; planning), school is so busy due to spring and end of school year, my daughter is suffering from various stress signs (test results from doctor has  cleared her so it can’t be explained medically), due to her being sick this past week I had to play “teacher” at home which is a big task for me but if I do not – she will fall further behind and make way for more stress, Bible study homework and another Bible study reading (and discussion where I often feel inferior)… Thus; I am open to stress and today my eye was pretty clear on this matter.

I have a Bible study tomorrow, but i think – God is telling me to take a walk with Him along the river and read a book and just “be still in His presence”. I can’t wait to be filled up again.

28 thoughts on “Twitching eye

  1. Thank you for following my blog because it led me to your blog. I really loved this post. I actually reread parts of it and it made me take a deep breath and let go of some weighty thoughts and anxieties. You have a great gift of just being raw and honest. I love that. Keep writing! I will definitely look forward to your future posts.

    Like

  2. We somehow came up with the notion that if the activity mentions Jesus, then we need to do it or help with it. Even the best things can rob us of our peace in Christ. So sometimes, taking a day off from a Bible study is actually the best thing you can do for yourself.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Twitching eye – My Lord and My God

  4. Bud Cornwell

    This world is controlled Satan and he comes to us in all ways. Stress is one of his most successful way of ruling our lives. This is my favorite passage to deal with this world. I where it on a necklace everyday.

    Ephesians 6:12-13. “For we do not wrestle against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this age, against spiritual hosts of wickedness in the heavenly places. Therefore take up the whole armor of God, that you may be able to withstand in the evil day, and having done all, to stand.”

    May our Lord comfort you always!

    Like

  5. Lene, I truly believe that we all feel inferior in many things. as it says in 1 Corinthians 10:13

    13 There hath no temptation taken you but such as is common to man: but God is faithful, who will not suffer you to be tempted above that ye are able; but will with the temptation also make a way to escape, that ye may be able to bear it.

    I have claimed this truth many times in my life. I helps me understand that I’m not alone in my battles. Many of us have many of the same battles. The comfort comes knowing that Jesus will also make a way so we can handle it.

    Hugs

    Like

    1. Thank you so much for the encouragement. Feeling inferior is not a good feeling at all and I agree; Many people feel so. Which in turn may be partly why I share it publicly on my blog, because we do have the escape pod – but we need fellowship and I’d like to meet the person who can sit in a Bible study or other group and openly say to the fellow members “I feel inferior to you”. It’s one of those feelings we generally do not talk openly about. But if you have time to read my blog posts, I’m sure you already know that I often touch subjects not so openly talked about. Thanks for commenting. I appreciate the support. many Blessings. Lene

      Liked by 1 person

      1. You are so right, we do not talk about many things. I believe it because of mainly 2 things, our pride and the devil making us feel afraid to share about those “things”… When Jesus said that God looks for His people to worship Him in Spirit and in Truth, He more then likely was talking about us being honest with each other, considering that He lives in us. Blessing back at you

        Liked by 1 person

  6. I have always known that eye twitching was something more spiritual than just what the doctors say. My eye has been twitching for the past fews months some days more than others. I have not been stressed but I have been seeking God for some answers, becoming impatience at times–along with having a lot of dreams.—So i know he is saying something I just need to be be still, listen, and trust him.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Nita

      My right eye has been twitching since midday today. I just know within me that it has a spiritual meaning, so i searched for ‘bible meaning for eye twjtching’ then i came across your comments.

      I’ve also been seeking God immensely for some answers.

      Your testimony gives me peace and just like you said, I’ll be still, listen and trust Him.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Amen! I have suffered from that for years off and on. I had other symptoms and test results which led them to think it was something else but I know it was pure stress, which can really make you sick in so many ways. Our current culture is not cohesive with the way we were all designed to be living. God bless!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much for stopping by and commenting. It’s very encouraging! I’m so sorry you have suffered from stress. It truly can be a debilitating illness in many ways and no, our culture certainly isn’t cohesive with the way we were intended to live! Lord Bless you ❤

      Like

    2. One thing I have asked from the Lord, that I shall seek:
      That I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life,
      To behold the beauty of the Lord
      And to meditate in His temple. Psalm 27:4.

      Wait for the Lord;
      Be strong and let your heart take courage;
      Yes, wait for the Lord. Psalm 27:14

      Father, I pray for Lene. Grant her rest in You as she waits upon You. Give her Your perfect peace that surpasses all understanding, a peace even in the midst of the storm. Lord, help her to remember Your good works in her life and to rejoice in all You are. Thank You Lord. Karen

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

