3rd culture woman – Philippians 3:20-21

Image

Philippians 3:20-21: “But our citizenship is in heaven. And we eagerly await a Savior from there, the Lord Jesus Christ, who, by the power that enables him to bring everything under his control, will transform our lowly bodies so that they will be like his glorious body.” 

My nationality is Danish. My address is in Japan. My daily language is English. The school my daughter attends is American International school. I was raised to be a Danish girl. I live in a culturally Japanese-marked marriage. I navigate the American school system. When I visit Denmark and my family I feel so out of place! I’m no longer “Danish”. When I communicate with my Japanese husband, I must always remember that he is Japanese and responds in different ways than what my upbringing expects him to respond. I am not Japanese after all. When I speak to the school, teachers or handle school matters, I ever so often must remind myself that it’s not the school system I grew up with. I am not American.

I’m a 3rd culture woman raising a 3rd culture child. And I like it. My husband may be Japanese and living in Japan but he too is feeling the effects of 3rd culture. I love the diversity of the life God has lead me to live. It isn’t easy and it does give grey hairs and wrinkles a year or two earlier than I would have liked, but… God has a plan and I am loving this life.

My true citizenship is in heaven. That’s my home and where I am headed… Meanwhile, I am passing through this temporary home called earth, juggling 3 cultures and oftentimes more through the friends I make. There are times when it’s tough and I look toward Jesus asking Him “are you kidding me?!?”, but peace flows in when I open my heart and stand firm on the promises He has made; 

* While we were still sinners, Jesus died for us (Romans 5:8). That’s how much God loves us.

* To all who believe in His Name He gave the right to become children of God (John 1:12). One day I will live in the great house of God.

* The God who made the world and everything in it, is the Lord of Heaven and earth – and does not live in temples built by human hands (Acts 17:24). He is omniscient and with me… always.

To have accepted Christ into my heart and to fully trust my eternal citizenship in Heaven makes my 3rd culture life so much easier and less stressful. He is with me though I can’t see Him. I feel His presence and I can see what He does in my life and in the life of others. Sometimes, we just need a different perspective when the culture and world juggle gets overwhelming.

 

One thought on “3rd culture woman – Philippians 3:20-21

Leave a Reply

